Star Wars ComLINKS – My Favorite Droid

ComLINKS 2As a loving tribute to the wonderful Kenny Baker, the man who brought Artoo to life in the Star Wars films, this month’s Star Wars ComLINKS is dedicated to the droids of the Star Wars Saga!  The ComLINKS assignment is to write about my favorite droid and reflect on exactly why they hold that special place in my heart.  I often write about how it takes me forever to settle on my topic for posts like these, be they ComLINKS or T5W.  But this time it took me all of 0.00004 seconds to know who I was writing about.

So who’s my favorite droid??  C’mon…do you really have to ask?  IT’S ARTOO-DETOO OF COURSE!!!!!  Artoo (and his golden buddy Threepio) are the foundation of Star Wars.  I can’t even imagine how I’d think of any other droid first (although, I’m sure there are people more creative than I on that front).  I remember having a little set of droid Micro Machines when I was a kid.  They added a fun little dynamic to the scenes I was setting up and the stories I was telling but they were primarily little background machines in my mind.  But not Artoo and Threepio!  They were characters who were as real to me as Luke, Leia, Han, and Chewie in their emotional landscapes, hopes, fears, and joys.  So, when I read this month’s question I was never going to choose anyone else!  Who can compare with Artoo and Threepio in the world of Star Wars??

Sure, an honorable mention should go out to Rebels‘ Chopper.  That little guy kills me!  He’s so, so snarky.  I love how crabby/angry he always is.  He can be sweetheart too though!  And I think his three eyes and two little arms are adorable.  From his rusty exterior to his wild paint job to his cantankerous attitude, this little guy is fantastic.  But he’s not Artoo or Threepio.

droids-13

Ahh Chopper…you crack me up! / Photo Credit – Star Wars: Rebels

For me, it’s not the abilities, make, model, or talents of the droids that hook me.  Rather, it’s how they represent the idea of friendship throughout the Star Wars galaxy.  And no droids do that better than Artoo and Threepio.  Looking at these guys it’s clear, they have been best friends FOREVER.  They bicker like an old married couple.  They complement each other’s strengths and weaknesses.  And they are always looking out for the other.  But, while I naturally love Threepio too (you really can’t have one without the other), Artoo’s my guy.  Second only to Chewie, Artoo is Star Wars’ shining example of what makes a great friend.

But, it’s more than just his friendship with Threepio that allows the little archetypal astromech to steal my heart.  It’s more the type of friend he is.  Artoo is quirky, smart, sassy, and always ready to help – from banal technical woes to deeper emotional problems.  Artoo is that friend who seems like they can fix anything, who’s with you on your best day…and your darkest, who’s always ready to offer fantastic advice (that you just didn’t take!) and is still by your side even though you ignored them to do what you wanted anyway.  As if all of that wasn’t enough, he’s the friend who’s always willing to handle the headaches of navigation on a good road trip!

Artoo makes me think of a few wonderful friends I have in my life who seem like they can fix anything.  I see their compassion and competency in Artoo, and vice versa!  That is a beautiful feeling to know that you always have that someone there, just out of the spotlight, ready to repair what’s broken or stand by your side as you try to navigate what ails you..and I love Artoo because he does all of those things, without hesitation, for Luke too.  What a beautiful model!

droids-10

*Beep boop beedee bop beep* – translation:”Shall we hang out on a desolate, swampy planet with no clear way back to civilization because you have ‘a hunch’??  Sure!  I’ve got you!  What are friends for?!” / Photo Credit – The Empire Strikes Back

We all need a friend like Artoo in our lives.  And we should all strive to be a friend like Artoo to someone else too.  Because, at the end of the day, what could be better?

And that ladies and gentlemen is why I love me some Artoo!  If you’d like to see my first ComLINKS post you’re more than welcome to click here.  It’s about my favorite Star Wars memory!  And remember, Star Wars ComLINKS is the brainchild of Jenmarie, the blogger who runs the fabulously diverse Star Wars blog Anakin and his Angel.  You should really check out her site.  Annnnnd, if you are someone who loves a galaxy far, far away, you should think about writing a ComLINKS post yourself!  You can find out all about that here.  Enjoy the rest of your day, some fun banter with a good friend, and may the Force be with you.

droids-21

Awesomeness Credit – Artoo / Photo Credit – Return Of The Jedi

19 thoughts on “Star Wars ComLINKS – My Favorite Droid

  1. R2 is obviously a great choice! I think he is probably the most loyal droid in all of the movies and I adore his dedication to Luke Skywalker.

    Thanks for participating 🙂

    *Sorry if this comment is posted twice!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

